California Professional Truck Driving Championships

Driver Recognition Program

The California Professional Truck Driving Championships are organized to recognize and promote safe driving and professionalism in the transportation industry. This competitive event is designed to give drivers a chance to test their job skills under standardized conditions using vehicles that are the tools of their trade.  Truck driving championships afford a safe, accurate check of the driver's ability to handle his/her unit in close quarters.


Two regional competitions are held within the state - North and South. The winners from each class of competition, from each region, come together to compete in the State Finals Competition.

The state finals winners will compete with other states’ winners at the National Truck Driving Championships. The National Truck Driving Championships are held by ATA in various cities throughout the nation. This year's competition will be held August 9 - 12 at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, FL.

Southern Regional:
April 8, 2017
Auto Club Speedway
​Fontana, CA

Northern Regional:
May 20, 2017
McClellan Park Mega Lot
Sacramento, CA

State Finals:
May 21, 2017
McClellan Park Mega Lot
Sacramento, CA

California Champions

 Grand Champion Award Recipient
Greg Ryan, Walmart Transportation, Red Bluff

Rookie of the Year Award
Tim Benefield, Oak Harbor Freight Lines, West Sacramento

The CTA Truck Driving Championship Committee organizes this yearly event. A dedicated group of volunteers participate on the Committee and, along with more volunteers, facilitate and judge this annual competition.

Sponsorship Opportunities
We have many sponsorship opportunities available to you!
Please contact the CTA Events Department if you are interested in sponsorship.

For 2018 dates and locations or for more information, please contact the Events Department at (916) 373-3558.